Comment on page
The endpoints screen within the dope.console settings allows you to configure your dope.endpoints, which is minimal effort—it requires only two parameters to be configured!
The first endpoint configuration is the anti-uninstall password.
By default this parameter is not enabled, but once there are greater than 20 endpoints installed, we recommend that you an anti-uninstall password. When you reach this milestone, you will see the following information in the right-side panel.
Endpoint side panel before and after installing greater than 20 endpoints.
To enable the password, simply select the arrow next to the “Not yet configured” text.
This will automatically generate an anti-uninstall password to be used for all your dope.endpoints.
Once you enable an anti-uninstall password it cannot be disabled.
To generate a new password select the refresh icon
If you want to copy the password so it can be shared simply select the copy icon
The Anti-Uninstall Password is used on the dope.endpoint for:
- End users to uninstall
- End users to disable
The fallback mode parameter deals with how the dope.endpoint should behave when it cannot connect to either the dope.cloud Web Category or Malware services.
When this happens the dope.endpoint can be configured to switch Fail Close Mode ‘ON’ or ‘OFF.’
When Fail Close is switched ‘ON,’ any website that an end user has previously accessed and is cached will have policy applied to it. If the user has previously attempted to access a blocked website, they will still be blocked.
Any attempt to access a new website will result in a ‘Block‘ response.
When Fail Closed is switched ‘OFF,’ any website that an end user has previously accessed and is cached will have policy applied to it. If the user has previously attempted to access a blocked website they will still be blocked.
Any attempt to access a new website will result in an ‘Allow’ response.
By default Fail Close is set to ‘OFF.’
To set Fail Close to ‘ON’ or ‘OFF’ simply toggle the check box.
Fallback Mode status indicating if Fail closed is ‘OFF’ or ‘ON.’
After updating any of the Endpoint configuration parameters, the updated configuration must be saved.